63 Additional Countries Eligible to Participate in H-2A and H-2B Visa Programs

USCIS recently announced to JCS Immigration and Visa Law in Los Angeles, that the Department of Homeland Security, together with the Department of State, have added Austria, Italy, Panama and Thailand to the list of countries whose nationals are eligible to participate in the H-2A and H-2B visa programs for this year. The official notice was published in the Federal Register on January 17, 2014.

The H-2A and H-2B program allows for U.S. employers to bring foreign nationals over to the United States in order to fill temporary agricultural and nonagricultural jobs, respectively. USCIS may only approve petitions from countries designated by the Secretary of Homeland Security as eligible to participate in the program; however, USCIS may approve petitions from nationals of countries not on the list if it is determined to be of interest to the United States.

International Students

To see the entire list of 63 eligible countries, please visit USCIS’ website here.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: