Washington and Colorado Latest States to Join Oregon in Not Complying with ICE Detainers

Since our U.S. immigration attorneys in Los Angeles made the announcement that several county law enforcement agencies in Oregon had stopped complying with ICE immigration detainers, Washington and Colorado are the latest to also express their non-compliance with the requests.

There have been at least 4 reported counties in Washington State and four in Colorado that have joined a growing number of jurisdictions in Oregon that stopped holding undocumented immigrants in jail for the sole purpose of deportation. A Federal Judge in Washington State recently ruled that local law enforcement is not required to comply with these requests from U.S. Customs and Immigration Enforcement. Currently, Walla Walla, Kitsap, Yakima, Thurston and Clackamas counties have stopped honoring ICE immigration detainers.

In Colorado, sheriffs departments in Denver, Boulder, Mesa and San Miguel counties have also stopped honoring ICE detainer requests. Since the April 11th court decision in Oregon, 29 counties have changed their detainer policies.

These recent changes in detainer policies in local law enforcement in these three states show the growing split from the Department of Homeland Security’s Secure Communities program. Currently, deportations are a key factor in the Obama Administration’s delicate attempt to fix U.S. immigration policy and offer Comprehensive Immigration Reform.

In California, our immigration lawyers fight to help you get your loved one out of immigration holds and deportation proceedings. Contact us now and see how we can help you!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: