Department of State Announces 2015 Diversity Visa (DV) Program

JCS Immigration and Visa Law Office, serving the Greater Los Angeles area, including San Fernando, Riverside, San Bernardino and Orange County is excited to release the announcement from the U.S. Department of State regarding the 2015 Diversity Visa (DV) Program. The Diversity Visa program is a visa lottery/US Green Card lottery that grants successful applicants US Green Cards to enter the United States and become Lawful Permanent Residents.

Only “high admission” countries – those countries from which there were more than a total of 50,000 immigrants during the period of the previous five years cannot apply. These countries include:

Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.

Individuals born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan are eligible. Changes in eligibility for this year includes natives of Nigeria no longer being eligible.

The E-DV online registration system will be open for applications beginning noon Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) on October 1, 2013 and ending at noon Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) on November 2, 2013. Starting May 1, 2014 applicants can check online at to see whether their entry was selected or not.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: